Fate and an old Miele, and I’m not talking about a vacuum.

My 1987 Miele Delta, after its makeover in the summer of 2010. Photo © Andrea Sirois Photography.

I like to believe it was fate that returned my first real road bike to me two summers ago. I’m talking about a 1987 Miele Delta, beautiful and unassuming with its Ishiwata 022 tubing, clean lugged joints, utilitarian but bomb-proof Suntour componentry, and not to mention, Campy compatible back in the day.

The Miele was bought from Cicli Forza on Denman and Davie, before the planting of northwest rainforest adaptable palm trees, at a time when I had tired of my current touring steed and wanted a fast bike for real workouts. She was my companion on burns out and around UBC as I tried to hop on the wheels of local cycling gods like Alex Stieda and Steve McMurdo. She was also the bike I chose for runs up to Whistler with friends looking for a challenge before an all-night party at someone’s club cabin. Those were the days of poor road conditions, virtually no shoulder, narrow lanes with sometimes heavy traffic, and road washouts like M Creek on a regular basis. Needless to say, GranFondo mass rides weren’t even a figment of anyone’s imagination at the time.

Photo © Andrea Sirois Photography.

The Miele followed me, racked to the roof of my old BMW 2002 with its touring stable mate and a sorely under-used windsurf board, on three round trips to Ryerson Polytechnic Institute in Toronto during the late ’80s and early ’90s. She fell into a sort of coma after I graduated in ’92, and collected dust in storage for the next six years as I roamed the globe for work, usually accompanied by my touring bike.

I finally succumbed to the pressure of space, or more specifically, lack of it, in 1999. The Miele was sold to a work colleague for a song, and for the next eleven years I regretted the decision and lamented it, as my partner Andrea and some very patient friends can surely attest. It’s not that the Miele was that great a bike really. It was middle-high end at the time – nothing really flash. But, she was beautiful to ride, quick in the corners, a decent climber, and she was the first.

So, it was fate when I ran into Ted not once, but twice two summers ago. He volunteered that he still had my old road bike, almost as if he saw the question in a thought balloon rising from my caricature-like face. His bad back now prevented him from riding it. So, would he sell it back to me? Absolutely, and at the price he paid for it. Sold!

Photo © Andrea Sirois Photography.

Well, two years later and after a sanding, painting, new original decals, an upgrade to some newer, but for the most part period accurate components, here she is – complete and ready for the next stage in our continuing relationship around town, up Cypress, up Seymour, and hopefully, up to Whistler.

Finally, to all you aficionados of vintage steel bikes, who painstakingly and lovingly keep these beautiful machines on the road and ridden regularly, chapeau!

Photo © Andrea Sirois Photography.

This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Sport and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fate and an old Miele, and I’m not talking about a vacuum.

  1. Thank you Mark Mauchline.
    For your insightfulnes, your penmanship and your inspiring spiritualism… Cyclelogicical! What a word to add to the world.

    Let´s keep having fun and apreciate the things life brings to us.

    Love From Holland.

  2. Randy says:

    Your bike looks amazing! I just bought a Miele frame, but I’m having trouble identifying it. Where did you get the replacement decals? And do you have any other photos of this bike?

    Thanks!

  3. Sean says:

    This is just amazing that I ran into your blog. I have a same era Miele that’s come with me all the way to Toronto. Its been gathering dust and I just decided to start a restoration of it. I used to use it for triathlons and general training all over Vancouver where I grew up back in the 80’s and 90’s. Anyway, I also would love to know where you got the decals but also what components you ended up using. I still have all the Shimano 600 and biopace but I upgraded the rims ages ago. I was thinking of ‘upgrading’ to period Dura Ace from Ebay. Love to hear an update but nice to see such a nice restoration. Despite having several other flashier bikes over the years, I still think the Miele rode the nicest. Cheers!

  4. John says:

    Hi Mark,

    I stumbled onto your blog on mere accident while admiring Miele bikes. A good friend of my restore his vintage Bertin and I had the pleasure of riding it and fell in love with the character of vintage bikes.

    I’m on a hunt for my very own vintage bike to go on my own adventures and Miele is certainly one that I will consider.

    Mark you’ve done a mighty fine job restoring the bike. She’s sure a keeper!

Leave a Reply

